2022 NanoFest 14-17 July


In 1996 the New Zealand International Science Festival charitable trust was established in Dunedin to present the biennial festival. The organisation's mission is to inspire and engage people of all ages and backgrounds about the importance science plays in our daily lives and the positive difference it makes.

We ensure quality science education is accessible and affordable for everyone, everywhere. We cultivate a wider awareness of science to the general public, inspiring them by its wonder and engaging them with its implications for the future.

Since our inaugural festival in 1997, the festival has engaged over 200,000 participants across Aotearoa, New Zealand, celebrating all areas of science, from the mysterious outer limits of the universe to the marvellous inner workings of robotics, with all the weird, wacky, weighty and wonderful stuff in between. The festival features guests from New Zealand and abroad alongside local talent, where Dunedin is transformed into a city alive with science.

Festival Management

Executive Committee

Bridget Irving, President
Angela Clark, Vice President
Wendy Swainson, Treasurer
Judith Bateup
Michele Coleman
Suzi Flack 
Mike Harte
Peter Jones
Dave McMorran
Jim O'Malley
Gianna Savoie
Helen Nicholson


Dr Helen Anderson
Vice-Chancellor, University of Otago
His Worship, Mayor of Dunedin, Aaron Hawkins


Jerome Cousins, Director
Andrea Liberatore, Associate Director

Life Members

Jean Fleming
Dame Elizabeth Hanan
Mike Harte
Michele Coleman
Wai Piggott
George Petersen (deceased)